Keep a close watch on Bengaluru apartments, hostels and markets as Covid cases mount – The New Indian Express

Through Express news service

BENGALURU: Following the increase in micro-containment zones in Bengaluru, BBMP chief commissioner Gaurav Gupta has asked area and neighborhood officers to closely monitor apartments, hostels and sleeping quarters. Marlet.

He told media on Wednesday that there are 100 micro-containment zones in Bengaluru, 50% of which are apartment complexes. A total of 27 doctors, medical officers of health and 141 PHC closely monitor cases in apartments, hostels and PW accommodation. The purpose of setting up containment micro-zones and monitoring each case is to ensure that there is no spread.

He also gave instructions to take tough action against all apartment complexes and resident welfare associations if the standards are not met. Likewise, close supervision is exercised on the markets. In anticipation of the third wave and an increase in Omicron cases, area and neighborhood officials have been urged to monitor the situation in the markets and shut them down if necessary. Severe action will be taken against those who do not follow appropriate Covid behavior, he added.

Gupta said there was an increase in cases in apartments, hostels and GPs because many people are traveling and most cases have a travel history. Authorities are also monitoring the increase in cases in other districts and states.

With cases multiplying around the international airport, Gupta said each case was being assessed and that a check would also be carried out at hotels, resorts and other spaces. Tests and quarantine measures are underway to combat the Covid-19 cluster in the Okalipuram apartment complex, he added.

According to the December 28 health bulletin, out of 95 active micro-containment zones, 52 are apartment complexes, 42 are single-family homes and one is a hostel. The break: are from Bommanahalli Zone (26), Mahadevapura (18), East Zone (13), South Zone (15), Yelahanka (11), West Zone (6), RR Nagar (5) and Dasarahalli (1).